Saturday, February 4, 2023
HomeNewsLandmark guide

Landmark guide

  Get news that matters to you, sent directly to your inbox every Thursday morning, from Greater Oviedo & Winter Springs’ only nonprofit newsroom.                                                   Send me local news!

Greater Oviedo and Winter Springs has a rich history many notable landmarks. OCN created this guide to make it easy to explore these specials, unique spots in the community.

Nelson and Company Water Tower 

  • Address: Located on the southeast corner of Central Avenue and Broadway Street in Oviedo’s historic downtown
  • Website
  • Hours of operation: Not available  

The Nelson and Company Water Tower is a local landmark of downtown Oviedo and a leftover product of the Nelson and Company Packing Plant group. The company was originally founded by brothers Steen and Gus Nelson and was eventually bought out by their business partner Benjamin Franklin Wheeler in 1923. It is a part of the Nelson & Company Historic District, which also consists of a fertilizer plant, a citrus packing house and a celery pre-cooler. The Historic District is included in the National Register of Historic Places. The water tower can be viewed while driving from multiple streets, though 14 Garden St. offers a full view of the tower.

 

Browne-King House

  • Address: 322 King St. in Oviedo
  • Website
  • Hours of operation: This is a privately owned property but the cottage behind the house is available for rent through Airbnb.

The Browne-King House is a private home and was entered in 2001 into the National Register of Historic Places. The home was built in 1884 by George Gordon Hazeltine Browne, who would go on to represent Orange County in the Florida House of Representatives at the age of 27, nearly two years after the home was built. He was then chosen as the Speaker of the House in 1887. This two-story home serves as a historical example of 19th-century “I” House vernacular construction according to the house’s National Register of Historic Places registration form

The Oviedo Mall. Photo by Isaac Babcock.

The Oviedo Mall

  • Address: 1700 Oviedo Mall Blvd. in Oviedo
  • Website 
  • Hours of operation: Monday-Saturday from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. and Sunday from noon-6 p.m. 

Originally known as the Oviedo Marketplace, this indoor shopping mall and movie theater first opened March 4, 1984. In recent years, the Oviedo Mall has become the home for numerous events such as the Oviedo Brewing Company Night Market or Sip & Shop food and wine strolls. The mall hosts 96 stores and services, many of which are composed of unique local vendors and groups. Enjoy theater performances at Penguin Point Productions, learn to paint at Calliope Street and shop Duckie’s Vintage Boutique for vintage clothing and more.

 

The Winter Springs Veteran and Military Services Memorial 

  • Address: Blumberg Boulevard in Winter Springs
  • Website 
  • Hours of operation: Monday-Sunday, open 24 hours 

Located in the Winter Springs Town Center, this memorial was developed by the City of Winter Springs and Winter Springs Rotary Club and was completed in 2008 to honor current and fallen members of the military services. The memorial is open to the public and available for viewing at any time.

 

Bear Creek Nature Trail 

  • Address: 1535 Winter Springs Blvd. in Winter Springs
  • Website 
  • Hours of operation: Monday-Sunday from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

The Bear Creek Nature Trail is located in Winter Springs and is known as an easy hike for families or casual walkers. This less than a mile trail features numerous plant species like Beautyberry shrubs and Cypress trees that grow alongside a small creek. 

The Townhouse Restaurant in Oviedo. Photo by Cari Hicken.

Townhouse Restaurant 

  • Address: 139 N Central Ave. in Oviedo
  • Website
  • Hours of operation: Monday-Saturday from 6 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. and Sunday from 7 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. 

This charming classic diner is frequented regularly by residents and is known for its southern-style cooking and authentic Greek offerings. Though the original location from the 1960s closed in 2016 to accommodate road construction, this current location was built not far from the original site and reopened that same year. Often heralded for their delicious food and friendly service, the Townhouse Restaurant is a well-known destination within the Oviedo community. 

 

The Chelonian Research Institute (closed) 

  • Address: 402 S Central Ave. in Oviedo
  • Website
  • Hours of operation: Not available 

The Chelonian Research Institute was a nonprofit organization that contained a research facility, library, sanctuary, museum and residence for scientists. The institute opened in 1997 and featured the world’s third-largest turtle and tortoise collection with its museum. Founder Peter Pritchard, who passed away in 2020, was an Oviedo resident and regarded as a world-renowned turtle and tortoise conservationist. After closing in 2021, his wife Sibille Hart Pritchard announced the institute’s collection would be acquired by The Turtle Conservancy in California with an expected opening date in 2025. 

 

Lake Charm Memorial Chapel 

Lake Charm Memorial Chapel is known to be the oldest still-existing structure in the City of Oviedo and was originally built in 1880 to serve as a non-denominational meeting place for residents on Sunday afternoons. Currently, the chapel is occupied by the City of Oviedo’s Mayor Megan Sladek and her family. 

 

Whitney-Wolcott House on Lake Charm 

  • Address: 6297 Lake Charm Circle in Oviedo
  • Website 
  • Hours of operation: Not available 

The Whitney-Wolcott House on Lake Charm is a private residence and is among one of the oldest properties in Oviedo. The house was built in 1886 by the president of the A.B. Chase Piano Company, Calvin Whitney, who later helped form the Lake Charm Improvement Company which helped develop improvements such as a sidewalk around the lake and the removal of muck. 

 

Seminole County Parrot Rescue 

  • Address: 220 Saunders Trail in Geneva
  • Website 
  • Hours of operation: Visits are by appointment only and are reserved for those involved in the adoption/surrender process. Contact parrotrescues@gmail.com or message via Facebook for more information. 

This nonprofit rescue began in 1998 and is owned and operated by longtime Geneva resident Ellen Sherman, who has dedicated her life to the care and keeping of parrots. Some parrots are considered to be long-term residents, while others are available for adoption and can be seen by appointment only. Sherman and her team of volunteers are currently accepting donations for damages from Hurricane Ian and Nicole.

 

Museum of Geneva 

  • Address: 165 1st St. in Geneva
  • Website
  • Hours of operation: Open 2nd and 4th Sunday of the month from 2-4 p.m. or by appointment. Call 407-349-5697 or email genevaHGS@aol.com for more information. 

The Museum of Geneva was dedicated in 1965 by the Geneva Historical Society and houses artifacts collected from the early settler families of Geneva. The museum also features the Village Store, which contains items available for purchase such as Geneva history books and pen and ink drawings of Geneva historical sites. All proceeds serve as donations that directly fund the museum. 

The T.W. Lawton House. Photo by Isaac Babcock.

The Lawton house 

  • Address: 200 W. Broadway Street in Oviedo 
  • Website  
  • Hours of operation: The Lawton House is open for tours from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. on the first and third Saturday of the month, during the Oviedo Farmers Market operating hours.  

According to the Oviedo Historical Society, Oviedo pioneer J.H. Lee built the Lawton House in 1890 and then gave it to his daughter, Charlotte “Lottie” Lee and her husband Thomas W. Lawton Sr., former principal of Oviedo High School. The house was originally built on South Central Avenue and was then moved on rollers to its current location on West Broadway Street.  

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: